top of page

My Dream Within A Dream

My Lovely Dream Within A Dream

05.12.2017

I wakened this morning in pain. Just like yesterday. Just like the day before. Just like last year. My bones were crying out for medication that would take a hour to really kick in and even longer to even the pain out to a manageable level. There was no point in staying in bed now I was awake as the pain would just seem amplified without distractions. But one thing I asked for in my morning prayers was to simply have some time free from pain but to still be alive. ( You have to be careful what you wish for- ‘Great Spirit, could you take away my pain?’ Great Spirit ..’Of course my child…welcome to the afterlife’)

I cannot remember the last time that I wasn’t in pain. Sometimes it can be controlled but sometimes it is so severe I could cry. When it is controlled it is still there, lurking, waiting on a lack of distraction, or waiting till that half hour before medication is due again. So asking to be without pain for even a wee while is kind of top of my list some mornings.

To cut a longer story shorter, I returned to bed for a nap after a few hours of stiffness that refused to go away and pain that seemed to be in every joint and bone in my body. I hoped that I would fall asleep as I was exhausted. I did.

Next thing I knew I was sitting up in bed in a very white room and I realised that for the first time in many years I was not in pain. As I tried to push myself up out of the bed I literally took off flying towards the ceiling of the room. Only thought slowed me down in time not to bash my head. I stayed up there while realizing that I was weightless with no harsh pain. So I flew across the room and back again. When I was sure I could fly without effort I remember thinking -bloody hell, I am not going to waste this new found skill on flying, I want to dance. And so I did . I danced about the room never touching the ground or the walls or ceiling every move so easy and delightfully agile and beautiful. After a few minutes of this I looked out of the window to a dark blue starry night and without worry or thought of danger I opened the window and danced out of it.

The adventure then started . I danced in the sky and danced on top of the buildings , never once putting a foot down and never once in pain. I did steps that I hadn't used since contemporary dance classes in the 1980’s. There was no music but the art was all in the dance and my freedom was so beautiful. At one point I looked down and was afraid people would see me. In my head a voice said ‘they will not.’ and looking back to where I came from it looked like the old Royal Infirmary in Glasgow. I could see the window I still open.

After hours of dancing and enjoying the freedom of no pain or stiffness I realized that I should go back. The next thing I felt was a small hand in mine and I was in the bed I had left. Then I felt another small hand in mine. They felt like both my daughters hands as toddlers. Yet when I looked both my daughters were grown up and sitting beside my bed. The elder daughter spoke and said she would get the doctor. She said that I had my operation and had been unconscious for five and a half hours and that everyone was very ,very concerned. My younger daughter was in tears and couldn’t speak. I remember feeling sorry that they were so upset but feeling the joy of having been alive but not in pain, even if it had been a dream caused by anaesthesia of some sort for my operation.

Then a felt myself coming away from the hospital room and wakening up in this reality with two snoring dogs keeping me warm. I knew it was this reality because the pain was back.

I feel elated still. I can remember the weightless, painless dancing in the dream within a dream. And I thank Great Spirit for giving me time without pain while still being alive! Many blessings, Colette

Grandmother Winds of the Earth


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page